2020 Community Star Award

Brought to you by PMP – Prevention Means Progress

The Community Star Award event is designed to honor community and coalition partners who have dedicated their time, passion, and energy for education, prevention, and/or treatment of substance abuse and addiction.  PMP selects one Community and one Coalition Partner for each quarter of the year.

Please join us for a virtual Community Star Award ceremony on Monday, December 14th at 12:00pm. This will take place on zoom (details below).

You are invited!
Monday, December 14, 2020 at 12:00 pm
Virtual Event via Zoom

Download the Meeting Invitation »

Please RSVP To Maggie: mballard@heartlandfamilyservice.org

We want to honor the recipients for all the great work that they do, so please mark your schedule and plan to attend. We regret not being able to do so over a bowl of soup and delicious cookie like we have for the past couple of years, but we plan to do that next year, where we will honor both 2020 and 2021 winners in person. We look forward to seeing you on December 14th!

Please plan to attend this inspiring and uplifting event!

Our vision is empowering people to take action against substance abuse. We value everyone’s contribution to prevention, treatment, and recovery.

About the Awards

The Community Star Awards began in 2008 as a partnership with the Pottawatomie County Drug Endangered Children’s (DEC) Team.  PMP and DEC gave away five Community Star Awards at our 1st Annual Awards Ceremony in September  to individuals and coalition members who were / are making a difference in the lives of individuals, families and communities who are affected by meth.  PMP has continued to select Community Star’s since our first ceremony in 2008.

PMP honors  one community member and one coalition member each quarter for their contribution to the community and the time and energy they dedicate toward the education, prevention, and treatment of drug abuse and addiction.  Then in the fall, PMP hosts their Annual Awards luncheon, where one overall Community Partner and  Coalition Member is voted on by Coalition members to be awarded the Annual Community Star Award.

Criteria for nomination includes the following areas for recognition:

Community Partner:  Nominee has contributed substantially to the community, has inspired the community to be a healthier place, and has dedicated time and synergy towards the education, prevention, and treatment of methamphetamine abuse and addiction.

Coalition Member: Nominee has contributed public service supporting PMP mission, has a willingness to contribute ideas and participate in PMP events, is a team player, follows through on tasks, and demonstrates great team collaboration.  Coalition member nominee may also meet the community partner areas for recognition as a result of his/her process and contributions to the Coalition’s efforts.

Past Events

2008 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Region 6 Behavioral Healthcare Nonpareil
Carter Lake Community Resource Center – Keellia Thurber Children’s Square – Theresa Novak
PAR Unit – Dan Kelley and Pat Norris Carolyn Price
Child Health Specialty Clinic – Kris Smith Scott Milner
Helen Travis Trailblazers
2009 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Iowa Dept of Human Services – Child Protective Unit Rich Bartholomew and COBRA
Tom Hamlin Delice European Bakery and Café
Lorelle Mueting Judge Kathleen Kilnoski
Katie Pattee – Pottawattamie Co. Sheriff’s Office
Plattsmouth Community – Brian Paulson
Judge Bill Zastera
2010 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Christy Hagen Wiles Counseling – Lori Wiles
Susan Pawloski Metro Community College – Office of Public Affairs
James Cloyd Donn Dierks – Council Bluffs health Department
Melanie Berry Heartland Family Service
2011 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Sharon Weaver Iowa Behavioral Health Counseling
Beth Morrissette Action 3 News (Al Carl, Craig Nigrelli, Carol Wang)
Michelle Badalucco Wanda Zielienski (counselor)
Nancy Drahota HyVee – Council Bluffs Store #1
2012 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Anita Wisecup – NUIHC Carol Johnson
Susie Dugan Millard Central Middle School (Julie Williams, Carolyn Gassert, Judy Bahensky)Wilson Middle School (Sarah Sealock, Carrie Schmidt)Kirn Middle School (Tonya Korkow, Jean Burns)
Region 6 Prevention Services
(Crystal Fuller, Jona Beck, Marcy )
Daily Nonpareil (Tim Johnson, Chad Nation)
Heather Loutzenhiser Complete Music
 2015 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Maggie Ballard – PMP Lt. Ken Kanger – Omaha Police Department
Nicky Clark – HFS / PEMRY Kersten Borer – Woodhaven Counseling
Curtis Rainge – Sarpy County Sheriff’s Office Eric Goodell – Omaha South Thrive Club
Jaymes Sime – Boys Town of Iowa Jami Anders-Kemp – Omaha 360
 2016 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Kevin Neumann Thomas Burns; Rick Keller
Erika Jacobson – ABH Addiction & Behavioral Health Services, Inc. Sheriff Jeff Davis – Sarpy County Sheriff
Gretchen Bayer St. Pius/St. Leo Drug Dodgers
Heather Kirk, Santa Monica House IWCC Men’s Soccer Coach and Team; IWCC Men’s Wrestling Coach and Team; IWCC Women’s Basketball Coach and Team
 2017 Community Star Awards
Coalition Member Nominees Community Partner Nominees
Elaine Hackbart Trailblazers Pursuit Youth Team
Lindsey Williams – Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Midlands Brandy Wallar
Anna Brewer – Nebraska Women’s Fund Bill Laird – Whiteclay Action Coalition
Major Donna Miller – The Salvation Army Deputy Jay Wingler

The 2018 Award Ceremony was held at the Nebraska Safety Council on December 18, 2018. PMP honored the following Community and Coalition Partners:

Partners: October – December 2017
Coalition Partner: Melanie Ryan
Community Partner: Kelsi Bouray

January – March 2018
Coalition Partner: D/C Ken Kanger and the Omaha Gang Unit
Community Partner: Leo McIntosh

April – June 2018
Coalition Partner: Lex Ann Roach
Community Partner: Nicole Tamayo

July – September 2018
Coalition Partner: Jackie Alba
Community Partner: Jim Motz

© Copyright Prevention Means Progress - Website Design by REBEL INTERACTIVE